News Brief (Winter Break Wrap-Up)

Kayley Swedlund, Reporter

Hang on for a minute...we're trying to find some more stories you might like.


Email This Story






Saturday, December 22

-Government shut down for the third time in a year.

Sunday, December 23

-New Jersey wrestling referee banned from officiating district matches after forcing high school athlete to cut dreadlocks.

-More than 42 killed when tsunami hit beaches in Indonesia.

Tuesday, December 25

-Iraq officially made Christmas Day a national holiday.

Wednesday, December 26

-Trump became the first president since 2002 not to visit the troops at Christmas time

Friday, December 28

-Michelle Obama named “America’s Most Admired Women” in a new poll.

-The nation’s oldest military veteran died at 112.

-Chris Burrous, beloved KTLA Anchor, died at 43.

Saturday, December 29

-California becomes the first state to only allow rescued animals sold at pet shops.

Tuesday, January 1

-Mexican mayor gunned down after being sworn into office.

Thursday, January 3

-Daryl Dragon of captain & Tennille died at 70.

Saturday, January 5

-Millions continue to face severe cuts to food stamps and other services due to the government shutdown.

Monday, January 7

-Cyntoia Brown is granted clemency after serving 15 years in prison for killing a man who bought her for sex.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email